WOWSA awards 2019

The World Open Water Swimming Association (WOWSA) have announced the selection of outstanding individuals for their 2019 awards.

The categories for this year’s awards are, WOWSA ‘Man of the Year’, ‘Woman of the Year’, ‘Performance of the Year’ and ‘Offering of the Year’.

The WOWSA Award winners are selected by the public in an online poll where one vote is allowed by one computer/ one person.

Outdoor Swimmer contributor, Elaine Howley, has been nominated for ‘Offering of the Year’ for her swimming journalism.

If you would like to vote for Elaine, or any other for any other nominee, you can do so here:

Voting closes on 1 February 2020.


2019 World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year Nominees:

  1. Adherbal Treidler de Oliveira (Brazil)
  2. Alex Fong Lik-sun (Hong Kong)
  3. André Wiersig (Germany)
  4. Attila Mányoki (Hungary)
  5. Fergil Hesterman (Netherlands)
  6. Florian Wellbrock (Germany)
  7. Ger Kennedy (Ireland)
  8. Masayuki Moriya (Japan)
  9. Paul Georgescu (Romania)
  10. Petar Stoychev (Bulgaria)
  11. Robert McGlashan (Canada)
  12. Thomas Pembroke (Australia)
  13. Maarten van der Weijden (Netherlands)

2019 World Open Water Swimming Woman of the Year Nominees:

  1. Alisa Fatum (Germany)
  2. Ana Marcela Cunha (Brazil)
  3. Bhakti Sharma (India)
  4. Chloë McCardel (Australia)
  5. Elizabeth Fry (USA)
  6. Mariel Hawley Dávila (Mexico)
  7. Nora Toledano Cadena (Mexico)
  8. Pilar Geijo (Argentina)
  9. Rachele Bruni (Italy)
  10. Sarah Thomas (USA)
  11. Susan Simmons (Canada)
  12. Xin Xin (China)

2019 World Open Water Swimming Performance of the Year Nominees:

  1. 66th River Mile by Mally Richards (South Africa)
  2. 100 km Ocean Swim by Pablo Fernández Álvarez (Spain)
  3. Barbados to St. Lucia 151 km Crossing by Cameron Bellamy (South Africa)
  4. Easter Island Swim by Sarah Ferguson (South Africa)
  5. Father-and-Daughter Marathon Swims by Jessi & Richard Harewicz (Canada)
  6. FINA/CNSG Marathon Swim World Series Victory by Kristóf Rasovszky (Hungary)
  7. FINA UltraMarathon Swim Series Victory by Evgenij Pop Acev (North Macedonia)
  8. Grand Slam of Open Water Swimming by Marcia Cleveland (USA)
  9. Gulf of Finland Relay by Roman Karkachev, Timur Falomkin, Andrey Zamyslov, Anton Kutuev (Russia)
  10. Ice Kilometer World Record by Sven Elfferich (Netherlands)
  11. Iron Iceman by Dr. Alexandre Fuzeau (France)
  12. Maui Nui Swim by Becca Mann (Hawaii)
  13. Oceans Seven by Jonathan Ratcliffe (UK)
  14. Pitcairn Island Swim by Alex Kostich (USA)
  15. Sea of Galilee Two-Way Crossing by Avishag Turek
  16. Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming by Elizabeth Almond (USA)

2019 World Open Water Swimming Offering of the Year Nominees:

  1. Blind Vision by James Pittar (Australia)
  2. FINIS Stream (USA)
  3. FORM Swim Goggles + Polar® OH1/OH1+ Heart Rate Sensor (Canada)
  4. Kayaking & Coaching by Dan Simonelli (USA)
  5. Ocean Triple R: Remote Recovery Rescue by Nuala Moore (Ireland)
  6. Oceanman Series Experience (global)
  7. Open Water: San Francisco. Calendar 2020 by Zina Deretsky (USA)
  8. Prolific Promotions by Elaine Howley (USA)
  9. Slow Swimming by Stuart Hamilton (UK)
  10. Swimming Easter Island by John McCarthy (South Africa)
  11. Tampa Bay Frogman Swim (USA)
  12. The Ancient Seven Seas by David Rich (global)
  13. Travesía Interminable by Antonio Argüelles (Mexico) and Adam Skolnick (USA)
  14. WAVE Drowning Detection Systems by Mark Caron (USA)

Stay up to date with The Dip, our free weekly outdoor swimming newsletter.

Outdoor Swimmer is the magazine for outdoor swimmers by outdoor swimmers. We write about fabulous wild swimming locations, amazing swim challenges, swim training advice and swimming gear reviews.