Win a luxurious spa weekend courtesy of Arla LactoFREE

FINA announce 2016 World Cup and Grand Prix dates

FINA have announced initial venues and dates for the 2016 FINA/HOSA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup.

  • 7 February – Patagones-Viedma (Argentina)
  • 26 February – Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates)
  • 18 June – Balatonfüred (Hungary)
  • 27 July – Lac St Jean (Canada)
  • 13 August – Lac Magantic (Canada)
  • 9 October – Chun’an (China)
  • 15 October – Hong Kong (Hong Kong)

The list of events currently stands at seven races but the third race in the series has yet to be announced.
Christian Reichert and Rachele Bruni were the winners of the 2015 World Cup.
Dates for the FINA Open Water Grand Prix for 2016 have also been announced. The Grand Prix is a series of open water races ranging in distance from 15km to 36km. Again, the third race in the five-leg series has yet to be announced.

  • 7 February – Patagones-Viedma (Argentina)
  • 30 July – Lac St Jean (Canada)
  • 20 August – Ohrid Lake (Macedonia)
  • 4 September – Capri to Naples (Italy)

Evgenij Pop Acev and Pilar Geijo were the 2015 Grand Prix winners.
Read more:
Pop Acev and Geijo crowned FINA Grand Prix series winners
Payne wins in Hong Kong but Reichert and Bruni crowned World Cup series winners

Stay up to date with The Dip, our free weekly outdoor swimming newsletter.

I created Outdoor Swimmer in 2011 (initially as H2Open Magazine) as an outlet for my passion for swimming outdoors. I've been a swimmer and outdoor swimmer for as long as I remember. Swimming has made a huge difference to my life and I want to share its joys and benefits with as many people as possible. I am also the author of Swim Wild & Free: A Practical Guide to Swimming Outdoors 365 a Year and I provide one-to-one support to swimmers through Swim Mentoring.